Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


ALL SHALL PERISH Classic Lineup Reunites (Minus The Bassist)

Eddie, Ben, Matt and Chris are going… Back To the Future!

Eddie, Ben, Matt and Chris are going… Back To the Future!

There has been a lot of confusion over the last few days as to the future of All Shall Perish. The band has been inactive for two years, since frontman Eddie Hermida was pushed out of the band after joining Suicide Silence. The remaining members of the band were sole founding bassist Mike Tiner, and guitarist Francesco Artusato and drummer Adam Pierce. In the time since, both Arturo and Pierce were keeping busy with other projects. Arturo has been keeping busy with Devil You know and Pierce recently joined Emmure full time, as hints arose about a new album.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Then, yesterday, a new teaser image was posted on the band's official website under the name The Rotten King (likely a dig at Suicide Silence's The Black Crown release), and false rumors of new members surfaced. Turns out none of that is happening.

Metal Injection can exclusively report that behind the scenes, there was a legal battle between founding bassist Mike Tiner and founding drummer Matt Kuykendall. Earlier today, the judgment was handed down. Kuykendall was legally awarded all rights to the name, unpaid royalties, and other assets.

During the legal battle, Kuykendall reached out to founding members Ben Orum, and Caysen Russo and longtime members Hernan “Eddie” Hermida and Chris Storey to start making music again. With the legal battle settled, the band will be back under the original moniker of All Shall Perish! The band hope to get into the studio soon to record new material.

Their official release, which ironically comes on Back to the Future day, is as follows:

October 21, 2015

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Happy Back To The Future Day from All Shall Perish!

“DOC! THIS IS HEAVY!” – Marty McFly

Hernan “Eddie” Hermida – Vocals
Ben Orum – Guitar
Chris Storey – Guitar
Caysen Russo – Bass
Matt Kuykendall – Drums
Craig Betit – Additional VoKills

San Francisco, CA – How perfect that today is Back to the Future Day! All Shall Perish cofounders Matt Kuykendall, Ben Orum, and Caysen Russo are back together with Hernan “Eddie” Hermida and Chris Storey. (Start the DeLorean!).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The “deathcore” titans hailed by fellow Bay Area dwellers like Kirk Hammett (Metallica) and Robb Flynn (Machine Head) are making new music. Hermida fronted ALL SHALL PERISH on all three of their most recent albums: The Price of Existence (2006), Awaken the Dreamers (2008), and This is Where it Ends (2011). Hermida will continue in his role as fulltime vocalist for Suicide Silence. Orum plays guitar on all four All Shall Perish albums. Kuykendall, who created the name All Shall Perish, drums on all but the most recent album. Storey was a fan-favorite guitarist from 2003 to 2009. Hate, Malice, Revenge (2003) era guitarist Russo returns to the fold. Original vocalist Craig Betit also plans to contribute.

Nearing the conclusion of a legal arbitration over control of the band’s name, unpaid royalties, and other assets, bassist Mike Tiner declined a personal invitation from Kuykendall to rejoin his ex-bandmates. The legal system ultimately ruled in favor of the four out of five original members, their longtime vocalist, and guitarist. Russo will handle bass duties for ALL SHALL PERISH.

Hermida, Storey, Kuykendall, Orum, Russo, and Betit now look forward to putting their music in front of the court of public opinion: the fans, ensuring the legacy of ALL SHALL PERISH remains secure. Back to the Future Day, indeed!

Here's an interview I conducted with the band seven years ago, which features Hermida, Kuykendall, Storey and now former bassist Mike Tiner… back in simpler times…

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

Breakups & Shakeups

"Not happening, bro. Sorry. I tried really hard but it takes a whole band to want it."

Latest News

"ASP is not dead. We have some challenges to deal with."


Big releases from bands like Metallica, Slipknot, Meshuggah and Opeth, a return to form from Testament, who were rejoined by Alex Skolnick, an amazing...

Song Premiere

Hey there tech fiends, it's that time of the week again. Before we dive into today's focus on Oblivion, here's the usual weekly reminder...