Share This:

Upcoming Releases

BURZUM Is Releasing A New Album

Posted by on April 9, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Spring is here again and that means chirping birds, blooming flowers, and a new album from everyone's favorite trve kvlt, church burning, racist murderer! According to the official Burzum website, Varg Vikernes has completed work on a new album which should be released on May 27th via Byelobog Productions.

The album is titled Sôl Austan, Mâni Vestan (which translates to "East of the Sun, West of the Moon" in English) and is going to be instrumental electronic music similar to Hliðskjálf and Dauthi Baldrs. According to Vikernes:

"Sôl Austan, Mâni Vestan will feature ≈58 minutes of instrumental electronic music, that can best be described as relaxing, slow-paced, contemplative and very much original. You have not heard anything like this before, although we can compare it to other electronic music, such as Tangerine Dream – and I guess to old electronic Burzum music as well."

So, apparently fans can look forward to an album of keyboard driven prog rock? Seriously though, if you can ignore the fact that Varg Vikernes is a horrible person, this will probably be a good album. The Burzum discography is solid and Vikernes has already proven he can make good ambient music whether it's of the electronic or raw black variety. Below is the track listing complete with English translations:


  1. Sôl austan ("East of the Sun")
  2. Rûnar munt þû finna ("You Shall Find Secrets")
  3. Sôlarrâs ("Sun-Journey")
  4. Haugaeldr ("Burial Mound Fire")
  5. Feðrahellir ("Forebear-Cave")
  6. Sôlarguði ("Sun-god")
  7. Ganga at sôlu ("Deasil")
  8. Hîð ("Bear's Lair")
  9. Heljarmyrkr ("Death's Darkness")
  10. Mâni vestan ("West of the Moon")
  11. Sôlbjörg ("Sunset")

What do you think? Leave a Comment

Related Posts

Sponsored Links from Around the Internet