Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Upcoming Releases

LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT Plans On Making More Music Together

"…although there's no date right now when it'll happen."

liquid tension experiment 2021

Liquid Tension Experiment is the band featuring current Dream Theater guitarist John Petrucci and keyboardist Jordan Rudess alongside ex-Dream Theater drummer Mike Portnoy and King Crimson bassist Tony Levin. The group put out their first record in 21 years Liquid Tension Experiment 3 last year, and according to Rudess we might not have to wait another 21 years for (what we're assuming will be called) Liquid Tension Experiment 4.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Rudess said in an interview with Ghost Cult Magazine that "there will certainly be more [Liquid Tension Experiment material], although there's no date right now when it'll happen. We were interrupted by a few things, but… looking forward to when that happens again. It was so much fun the last time. It was great to get together with Mike Portnoy and the guys and that was just something that I will welcome again."

Liquid Tension Experiment 3 was the first time Petrucci and Rudess played with Portnoy on a record since his departure from Dream Theater in 2010. And given the quality of Liquid Tension Experiment 3, it's safe to say that exactly zero of their chemistry has degraded over time.

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

Weekly Injection

Plus releases from The Armed, Amigo The Devil, Greta Van Fleet, and August Burns Red.


Liquid Tension Experiment 3 is a remarkable return for one of progressive metal’s greatest instrumental troupes.

Bummer Alert

"Due to printing errors by the manufacturer."