Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Weekly Injection


Plus releases from The Armed, Amigo The Devil, Greta Van Fleet, and August Burns Red.

This week’s new heavy metal releases include the return of some prog legends, evil folk music, a couple techy metalcore covers, and more! To the metals…

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Amigo The Devil – Born Against

Genre: Folk
Origin: Spicewood, Texas
Label: Ingrooves

Technically speaking, this is not a metal album, however this is some dark shit that we're big fans of here. The latest from Danny Kiranos's Amigo The Devil has some vibes of The Dear Hunter, Murder By Death, and Tom Waits. It's been a joy to hear this project evolve, and this latest shift is the most intriguing yet.

The Armed – Ultrapop

Genre: Experimental
Origin: Detroit, Michigan
Label: Sargent House

Buy now on Bandcamp

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Now, for a hell of a journey. This eclectic collective dips toes in frenetic electronic-infused rock, hardcore, indie, and more on ULTRAPOP. While the exact membership of the outfit is speculated, we do know this album has contributions from Mark Lanegan and Queens of the Stone Age’s Troy Van Leeuwen.

August Burns Red – Guardians Sessions EP

Genre: Metalcore
Origin: Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Label: Fearless

Buy now form Fearless

Last year August Burns Red dropped the pretty excellent album Guardians, and this EP is stuff from those sessions as its name might indicate. This includes a couple new songs and covers of System of a Down's "Chop Suey!" and the Westworld theme. It's a must have for fans of the band, and a fun listen for those that enjoy metalcore twists on classics.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Cannibal Corpse – Violence Unimagined

Genre: Death metal
Origin: Tampa, Florida
Label: Metal Blade

On their first album in four years Cannibal Corpse are tearing through your eardrums with their trademark heavy as fuck death metal sound. The songs are violent and nasty as always with bops like "Inhumane Harvest," "Necrogenic Resurrection," and "Cerements of the Flayed." Also, this time they're joined by Hate Eternal's Erik Rutan on lead guitar and he has been shaking things up for them. Kevin has a full review right here.

Greta Van Fleet – The Battle Of Garden's Gate

Genre: Rock
Origin: Frankenmuth, Michigan
Label: Lava/Republic

The band both lauded and criticized for similarities to Led Zeppelin (which, side note, takes a lot of balls from the metal world where 1000s of bands TRY to sound like Black Sabbath and are praised for it) are back with their sophomore album of soaring hard rock. This has a classic rock vibe throughout and some lengthy tracks that dabble in old school prog. This is a fun rock record that's hard to be mad at.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Liquid Tension Experiment – LTE3

Genre: Progressive metal
Origin: New York, New York
Label: InsideOut

With a history of band drama, a whole bunch of time, and, I can only assume, some amount of beard envy, I can say that I never expected this album to happen. But holy shit, there's new Liquid Tension Experiment. The band with bass/chapman stick wizard Tony Levin (King Crimson) and classic-era Dream Theater fellas Mike Portnoy, John Petrucci, and Jordan Rudess is back with more shreddy, wanky prog than you could can handle. Jordan has a full review here.

Also dropping today…

  • Bewitcher – Cursed Be Thy Kingdom (Century Media) – Black/speed metal
  • Black Orchid Empire – Live In The Studio (Long Branch Records) – Melodic rock
  • Black Peaks – Live At The Brighton Centre (Rise Records) – Progressive rock
  • Bushido Code – The Ronin (Upstate Records) – Thrash
  • Chain Gang Grave – Cement Mind (Self-released) – Hardcore/noise punk
  • Crown – The End Of All Things (Pelagic Records) – Experimental sludge
  • Zac Crye – All The Same (Self-released) – Stoner rock
  • Endseeker – Mount Carcass (Metal Blade) – Death metal
  • Escape The Fate – Chemical Warfare (Better Noise) – Post-hardcore/metalcore
  • Gabestok- Én gang rådden, altid rådden (Strange Aeons Records) – heavy/black metal
  • Hail The Sun – New Age Filth (Equal Vision) – Post-hardore/progressive
  • Holding Absence – The Greatest Mistake Of My Life (SharpTone Records) – Post-hardcore/post-rock
  • Icon Of Sin – Icon Of Sin (Frontiers Music Srl) – Heavy metal
  • Ildaruni – Beyond Unseen Gateways (Black Lion Records) – Black metal
  • Intonate – Severed Within (Willowtip) – Progressive/technical death metal
  • Legions of War – Dark Dimensions (Careless Records) – Black metal/thrash
  • Monarch – Future Shock (Self-released) – Heavy metal
  • Offspring – Let The Bad Times Roll (Concord) – Rock
  • Pathfinders – Ares Vallis (Music-Records) – Mars themed groove metal
  • Septycemia – Yersinia Pestis (Pathologically Explicit) – Brutal death metal
  • Spectral Wound – A Diabolic Thirst (Profound Lore) – Black metal
  • To The Grave – Epilogue (Unique Leader Records) – Deathcore
  • Trytan – Blood of Kings (Retroactive Records) – Progressive metal
  • The Vintage Caravan – Monuments (Napalm) – Psychedelic rock
  • Vvvlv – 100 Years of Defeat (Self-released) – Black metal/sludge
  • Wednesday 13 – Necrophaze: Antidote (Nuclear Blast) – Horror rock
  • While She Sleeps – Sleeps Society (Spinefarm) – Metalcore

Sponsored Links from Around the Internet
Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

Weekly Injection

Plus releases from Aethereus, Deadscape, Ecryptus, Enterprise Earth, Lee McKinney, Party Cannon, Shadow Of Intent, and Underoath