Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Upcoming Releases

DEVIN TOWNSEND Announces Order of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1 Live Album

Due out October 23.


Devin Townsend will release his new live album Order of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1 on October 23. The album was recorded at Townsend's final show of his UK run in December 2019, and features the following lineup:

  • Guitarists Mike Kenneally (ex-Dethklok, ex-Frank Zappa) and Markus Reuter
  • Drummer Morgen Agren (Kaipa, Casualties of Cool)
  • Bassist Nathan Navarro
  • Keyboardist Diego Tejeida (Haken)
  • Guitarist and vocalist Ché Aimee Dorval (Casualties of Cool)
  • Vocalists Samantha and Anne Preis and Arabella Packford

"The whole objective was that I wanted to make that statement: This is by the seat our pants," said Townsend of the first of three volumes. "Because it's important to me to represent this hyper anal-retentive music that I've made over the years, but in a human way. Rather than it just being, 'Well, here it is, perfectly done.'

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

"I was overwhelmed by the fact that all these brilliant people that I have so much respect for were willing to come together and play this weird shit with me. I had these unique players and this interesting instrumentation that allowed us to interpret the music in different ways. It was clear to me that I could just have fun and be me and know that they would be effortlessly be able to follow that."

The tracklist for the album runs as follows:

  1. Borderlands
  2. Evermore
  3. War
  4. Sprite
  5. Gigpig Jam
  6. Coast
  7. Gato
  8. Heavens End
  9. Ain't Never Gonna Win
  10. Deadhead
  11. Why?
  12. Lucky Animals
  13. Castaway/Genesis
  14. Spirits Will Collide
  15. Disco Inferno
  16. Kingdom

Townsend is also working on a new record called Lightwork and has so far released three ambient guitar albums this year. So yeah, dude has been busy.

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

Weekly Injection

Plus released from An Autumn For Crippled Children, Humanity's Last Breath, Mammoth WVH, Skindred

Full Album Stream

"My aim with this music is to provide a soundtrack for anxious minds."