Connect with us

Hi,what are you looking for?

Gimme Metal's Top Tracks of the Week

FROZEN SOUL, POUNDER Among Gimme Metal's Top Tracks of the Week

Gimme Metal Program Director Brian Turner delivers the week's top 5 office buzz-worthy tracks.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

FROZEN SOUL – Wraith of Death

Solid debut from these frost-fixated Texans. Strident riffs, kinetic drums, corpse-cold vocals hovering over the proceedings. More than a few have tossed around comparisons to Bolt Thrower on ice, and if that's not your thing, well, chill out.

ACID MAMMOTH – Berserker

Opening with an evil cackle leading into an onslaught of witchy doom riffage, this Greek dad-son-led combo's latest leads you through some melodic and crisp sound avenues while still smothering your face with some cracklin' amp smoulder.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

POUNDER – Hard Road to Home

Matt Harvey and his mean machine are back in the neighborhood stinkin' up your corner with exhaust and then he parks and kicks over all your garbage cans and throws your newspapers in the pool. Pounder are back after their 2019 outing with the new 'Breaking the World' out Jan 29th on Shadow Kingdom. He's on Gimme guest spinning Friday January 8th (12pm PT/3pm ET) reairing Monday the 11th (8am PT/11am ET) and Saturday the 16th (10am PT/1pm ET). Check in on the chat and tell him to get off your lawn!

DALE CROVER – Tougher

Between pounding skins for The Melvins, Redd Kross and Dave Crover Band, our man has gotten a solo record out on Joyful Noise called "Rat-A-Tat-Tat" and it's sweet to the ear. "Tougher" cracks open with divebombing feedback intro, crushing riffage flanked by cheesy synth segues into a roaring destructo-solo of tectonic proportions, and still managing to swing.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

DREAD SOVEREIGN – The Great Beast We Serve

Whipping up a frenzy with some Celtic-Candlemass vibes, Primordial's lead pipes Nemtheanga takes his other project into a new amped-up realm on 'Alchemical Warfare', a follow-up LP to 2 previous LPs and an EP. His soaring voice wages war with the dirt-caked instrumental action behind him, total doom with some flares of Hawkwind. Nemtheanga returns for his second Gimme guest DJ special on Monday January 18th at 12pm PT/3pm ET so don't miss him in the chat.

Gimme Metal is the premier online radio station for metal fans around the world. It’s the first 24/7 metal music focused community where listeners can tune in to hear world class DJs like Dave Mustaine, Randy Blythe, Johan Hegg, Danny Lilker, Jessica Pimentel, Brian Posehn and many more play the sounds that you just don't hear anywhere else. Check it out for free at GimmeMetal.com. Also available for iOS and Android. Be sure to browse their store for killer selections.

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

Advertisement