Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Song Premiere

CARICATURE's New Song "Scars Of Separation" Attacks Social Media Trolls & Assholes

The album features members of Six Feet Under, SEVEN)SUNS & Last Chance To Reason!

The album features members of Six Feet Under, SEVEN)SUNS & Last Chance To Reason!

Caricature will be returning to releasing phenomenal full-length albums on November 17 with The Fiction We've Become, though phenomenal might be a bit of an understatement. Mastermind, vocalist, and multi-instrumentalist Joseph Spiller has been working on The Fiction We've Become for the better part of five years, and the results are nothing short of breath-taking.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

We're premiering the catchy and heavy-as-fuck new song "Scars Of Separation" today, which features Hvil I Kaos cellist Kakophonix, though the album features so much more than that. Spiller says the new song touches on the "pissing contest" that social media has become, and the distorted views people have of themselves due to it.

Now that the Bionatops record has been thrust into the world, it's time to focus on the record that birthed it and Scars seemed like a fitting way to "say hello" again. Where the rest of The Fiction We've Become features a varying recipe of  performances by a cast of some of the most lovely humans I know: Evan Sammons [drums: Last Chance To Reason], Ray Suhy [lead guitar: Cannabis Corpse, Six Feet Under], Morten Fjeld [guest guitar solo], Kakophonix [Cello/Strings: Hvil I Kaos], Earl Manieen [ Electric Violin: Seven)Suns] Fred Brum [international master of shredimony], Norma Sax [saxophone], "Scars of Separation" is just the Grim Lord Cello Enigma that is Kakophonix holding it down with the strings and me on everything else.

It was the last song written for the album and it hits fairly hard. Lyrically it delves into the constant pissing contest that social media and much of society has become and how that negativity fuels many people's perception of self. Be that through eating disorders, psychological/emotional issues, and varying forms of self mutilation. This flood of trolls, mean spirited assholes, and insecure jerks don't see what is on the other side of the screen and the sheer volume of it causes some people to see things not as they are or more harsh than things really are when they look at themselves in the mirror.

Pre-order The Fiction We've Become here, and if you do so, you'll be rewarded with exclusive bonus tracks with each single! Spiller says there will be six bonus tracks in total, and while he won't say what, he does say the songs will have something to do with "nativity in black [or maybe a mustache], pre-production demos, a song about a set of stairs leading somewhere else, something something about Money, and maybe a surprise or two."

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

New Music

They recorded it right before Vinnie Paul died.

New Music

FFO: Primus, The Dillinger Escape Plan... at the same time.

Latest News

Primus meets The Dillinger Escape Plan, it seems like.