Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

 Decay" Is Straight Up Doom Pop

Music Videos

SOM's (Ex-JUNIUS) New Song "Youth // Decay" Is Straight Up Doom Pop

Crunshingly heavy? Yes. Catchy? Also yes!

SOM, the band featuring Duncan Rich (ex-Constants), Will Benoit (Constants), Justin Forrest (Caspian), and ex-Junius members Mike Repasch-Nieves and Joel M. Reynolds, will release their new EP Awake for March 5. The EP will contain two new songs, one of which is "Youth // Decay", as well as remixes from Holy Fawn, Hisself (Johnny Dang of O'Brother), U Dye (Marshall Gallagher of Teenage Wrist), and Giuseppe Capolupo (The Devil Wears Prada).

"Before the first SOM record was done, Mike and I were both feeling creatively and musically adrift. We got together for a couple days, recording ambient guitar and synths over glitchy beats in an attempt to change things up," said Benoit.

"Two years later when Mike and Joel joined the band, I edited some of Mike's demo parts from that session to form the main melodies in 'Youth // Decay.' I arranged the chords and vocals, and brought it to the group. During quarantine, we all passed the demo back and forth. Slowly, this minimal, sparse piece of music grew into a dynamic, crushing song that is also the first track we finished as a five-piece."

Check out the music video for "Awake // Sedate" written and directed by Samia Zaidi, and pre-order Awake here.

You May Also Like

Weekly Injection

Plus releases from 40 Watt Sun, Abyssus, Comeback Kid, Nocturna, and SOM.

Music Videos

Sludgy riffs for days on end.