Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Upcoming Releases

OPETH Reveal Artwork and Release Date, Tracklisting For New Album, Sorceress.

Last week, we got all excited about the new teaser Opeth posted about their forthcoming album, Sorceress, and being the swell dudes that they are… the band is giving us news to be excited over this week.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Today, Opeth confirmed their 12th studio album, Sorceress, will be released September 30th on Nuclear Blast Records. Here is the cover art:

Opeth 'Sorceress' Front cover FINAL JPG

For those of you who enjoy reading meaningless titles to songs (meaningless until you actually hear the songs), here is the album tracklisting:

1. Persephone
2. Sorceress
3. The Wilde Flowers
4. Will O The Wisp
5. Chrysalis
6. Sorceress 2
7. The Seventh Sojourn
8. Strange Brew
9. A Fleeting Glance
10. Era
11. Persephone (Slight Return)

Frontman Mikael Åkerfeldt offered this quote about the new album in the press release:

”The new album ”Sorceress” is our 12th studio album since our beginnings in 1990,” says Åkerfeldt. “I find it difficult to understand that we’ve been going on for 26 years, let alone that we’ve made 12 records now, all of which I am very proud of. ”Sorceress” is no exception. I love this album, as does the whole band. I wrote the music during 5-6 months and we spent only 12 days recording it at Rockfield studios in Wales. I find that once again we’ve taken a step forward. Or sideways, Or backwards. Somewhere!? It’s different! It’s extremely diverse. And if I may say so myself, extremely good. I feel the right to say that since I like to think I know this band better than anyone on the planet. Also, I always manage to detach myself from the record and listen as a fan. It’s a fine little record. My favorite in our discography right now. Of course. That’s how it should be, right? It’s both fresh and old, both progressive and rehashed. Heavy and calm. Just the way we like it. Hopefully there’ll be others around the globe sharing this opinion. It was a joy to make it. A fucking joy to record it, and a sheer joy listening to it. So there you have it!”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Our bodies are ready to finally hear new Opeth, which I'm sure will be soon enough.

The band will be heading out with The Sword on a North American tour this fall, I'm sure we'll be hearing some new songs then.

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

Latest News

"The second one [Morningrise], we were just so pretentious then – playing chess, poetry."

Mashups & Covers

"Try singing it like you're inside a banana."