Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Latest News

REVOLVER GOLDEN GODS AWARDS 2011: The Winners & Full Show Recap

The Revolver Golden Gods 2011 are in the can. While highlights are set to air on VH1 Classic next month, there is no way the one-hour broadcast will highlight what a special night it was overall for metal. Here is a full run-down of all happenings at the event:

Dave Grohl starts the night coming out and hitting play on a jukebox, which for some reason played Justin Bieber. Host Chris Jericho proceeds to come out and crush the boombox with a baseball bat. Fozzy opens the show with a metal medley (which will air on Vh1) of Children of the Grave by Black Sabbath, Stand Up and Shout by Dio, Wraithchild by Iron Maiden, Angel of Death by Slayer, No More Tears by Ozzy, For Whom the Bell Tolls by Metallica, Freewheel Burning by Judas Priest and Primal Concrete Sledge by Pantera followed by a performance of a Fozzy original, God Pounds His Nails.

After a monologue, Jericho introduced Robb Flynn and Wayne Static to give away the Epiphone Best Guitarist Award:

– WINNERS: Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance (Avenged Sevenfold)
– John 5 (Rob Zombie)
– Dan Donegan (Disturbed)
-Gus G (Ozzy Osbourne, Firewind)
– Janick Gers, Dave Murray, and Adrian Smith (Iron Maiden)
– Alexi Laiho (Children of Bodom)

David Coverdale comes out to award the Comeback of the Year:

Winners: Murderdolls
– Accept
– Faith No More
– A Perfect Circle
– Soundgarden
– System of a Down

Right after accepting their award, the band introduced the Alice Cooper Group who performed "Under My Wheels," "Eighteen," "Is It My Body," and Schools Out (with Rob Zombie) which will air on the Vh1 Classic show.

Mike Portnoy and Charlie Benante came out to award the Best Live Band award:

Winners: Rammstein
– Avenged Sevenfold
– Gwar
– Iron Maiden
– Megadeth
– Sevendust

Rob Zombie presented Alice Cooper with The Golden God Award. This was followed by Jamey Jasta coming out to introduce Asking Alexandria who performed “The Next Episode” and “Morte et Dabo” before bringing out Sebastian Bach for a pretty fucking awesome rendition of "Youth Gone Wild." Early on in the set, the singer of AA actually dropped his mic and if rolled under the drum riser. Dude dodged for it as fast as he could, it was hilarious.

This was followed by a tribute to the fallen heroes of metal, which in turn brought out Wendy Dio and Geezer Butler who introduced Corey Taylor to give The Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award to Motley Crue.

Max Cavalera introduced Volbeat who played Fallen, Sad Man's Tongue and covered Dusty Springfield's "I Only Wanna Be With You" with Scott Ian of Anthrax.

Chino Moreno came out to present "Most Metal Athlete"

WINNER: The Miz (WWE wrestling)
– Chris Cole (pro skateboarding)
– Dan Hardy (MMA fighting)
– Toni Lydman (NHL)
– Jeremy Shockey (NFL football)
– Mike Vallely (pro skateboarding)

Brian Posehn & Scott Ian presents William Shatner with the Honorary Headbanger award. This was followed by Brendon Small and Dino Cazares introducing Devildriver's set. The band kicked it off with their new track "Dead To Rights" followed by their Black Flag tribute included "Rise Aboe", "Nervous Breakdown" (with Mike Valley), “Thirsty & Miserable” with Jamey Jasta and "Six Pack" with Max Cavalera.

Duff McKagan then presented Best New Band:

Winner: Black Veil Brides
– Asking Alexandria
– The Damned Things
– The Pretty Reckless
– Times of Grace
– We Are the Fallen

Vinnie Paul presented the Best Drummer Award:

WINNER: Mike Portnoy
– Tommy Clufetos (Ozzy Osbourne)
– Abe Cunningham (Deftones)
– Joey Jordison (Rob Zombie)
– Roy Mayorga (Stone Sour)
– Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden)

Dave Navarro came out and introduced Duff McKagan’s Loaded who played “Executioner’s Song”,“Dead Skin”, “Electric Eye” (Judas Priest) with Corey Taylor & Steve Jones.

Sebastian Bach & Taylor Momsen came out to give the award for Best Vocalist:

Winner: M. Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold)
– Glenn Danzig (Danzig)
– Bruce Dickinson (Iron Maiden)
– Chino Moreno (Deftones)
– Ozzy Osbourne
– Corey Taylor (Stone Sour)

Jerry Cantrell and Mike Inez came out to award the Album of the Year:

WINNER: Avenged Sevenfold, Nightmare
– Black Label Society, Order of the Black
– Deftones, Diamond Eyes
– Ozzy Osbourne, Scream
– Stone Sour, Audio Secrecy
– Volbeat, Beyond Hell/Above Heaven

Lars and Rob of Metallica came out to introduce the headliners, Avenged Sevenfold, who destroyed it. I was never a fan of the band, but I really have developed a new respect after watching them perform. They played “Bat Country”, “Beast and the Harlot”, “Nightmare”, “It's So Easy” (Guns N’ Roses) with special guest Duff McKagan (which will air on Vh1 Classic), "Unholy Confessions", "Almost Easy", “Mouth for War” (Pantera) with Vinnie Paul on drums. The Pantera and Guns N Roses covers were pitch perfect. These guys are total pros.

Overall it was a fun night, and the smoothest and fastest Golden Gods of the three. I will try to do a more in-depth recap of crazy stories in the next few days. Also, stay tuned for all of our black carpet video coverage, which will kick off on Monday. Watch previous years' coverage right here.

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

It's Just Business

"They don't tell you who's listening to your music. They don't let you reach out to them."