Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Full Album Stream

UTOPIA's New Album Shame Is A Wild Ride Through Modern Life

Technical and devastating.

Utopia – promo 1

If you're in the mood for some proggy, grinding metal, then you're gonna love this new Utopia record – Shame takes it is a wild ride through just how insane modern life can be.

Utopia is John Bailey and Jimmy Wilson on guitars, Chris Reese (Corrupt Moral Altar) on vocals and Arran McSporran (Virvum, Vipassi) on fretless bass and Jay Walsh on drums.

"The new album Shame continues the band's themes of mental health and philosophy," said Bailey. "As with the last album it's a a technical rollercoaster representing the chaos and the complexities of human life. The lyrics are sometimes abstract but deal with confusion, confirmation bias, illogical thinking. It's not a particularly fun concept but it's an honest one."

He continued: "All the themes here are complex and heavy and will never be useless when we superimpose them onto our own lives. The complexities are matched with the music and the intensity of the music is matched with the intensity of how I feel about the world and my place in it today. Sometimes I feel absolutely nothing whatsoever and sometimes I feel a burning for a better understanding of myself. Mood swings eh!!!"

Shame is available for pre-order here. You can also catch Utopia at one of the dates below.

2/2 – Liverpool, District (w/ Conan)
8/3 – Newcastle – Lubber Fiend
22/3 – Preston – Ferret
24/5 – Guildford – The Holroyd
21/6 – Rotherham – The Hive

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like