Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Weekly Injection

THE WEEKLY INJECTION: New Releases From JAMES LABRIE, DE LA TIERRA, and More Out Today – 1/14

Now, I've had some slow weeks in the past. But holy hell… Next week will be sweet though.

Now, I've had some slow weeks in the past. But holy hell... Next week will be sweet though.


De La Tierra – De La Tierra81QKp9bssrL._SL1425_
Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Genre: Melodic Groove Metal
Origin: Buenos Aires, Argentina/São Bernardo do Campo, Brazil
Label: SOM – Roadrunner

Buy now on 

Andreas Kisser from Sepultura has a new band, and it sounds sorta like… Ill Nino, actually. There is certainly a Sepultura-ish Latin groove foundation to the band, but, like Ill Nino, the music culminates in memorable choruses. In tow, are vocalist Andrés Giménez, of A.N.I.M.A.L., bassist Sr. Flavio of Los Fabulosos Cadillacs, and Alex González of Mana on drums. Groove metal peeps should give this a listen.

James LaBrie – I Will Not Break EP

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Genre: Progressive
Origin: Toronto, Canada
Label: Inside Out

Buy now on iTunes

That guy from Dream Theater most people seem to hate actually has a pretty solid solo project in case you didn't already. Mind you, it essentially sounds like Soilwork with James LaBrie doing clean vocals, but it is pretty decent. You won't find lengthy, complex arrangements or Jordan Rudess in a wizard hat, but you'll get effective, to the point melodic death metal-ish tracks. This is an EP of some leftover, demos and revisited tracks from his last album, Impermanent Resonance.

Murmur – Murmurresize_1389139868

Genre: Experimental Black Metal
Origin: Chicago, Illinois
Label: SOM – Underground Activists

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Buy now on 

I wrote a full review of this that you can find soon (or now?), but until then here's the TLDR version: Experimental black metal will remind you of Nachtmystium's crazy cousin.

Also dropping today…

AC Angry – Newsletter (Dust On The Tracks)
Alkerdeel & Gnaw Their Tongues – Dyodyo Asema EP (Consouling Sounds)
Altitudes and Attitude – Altitudes and Attitude EP (Megaforce)
De La Tierra – De La Tierra (Roadrunner)
Hexis – Abalam (Halo of Flies)
The Isolation Process – The Isolation Process (Version Studio)
Leaf Hound – Live In Japan (Ripple)
Magenta Harvest – Volatile Waters (Inverse)
Relief In Sleep – Godspeed (Imminence)
Suicidal Angels – Divide and Conquer (NoiseArt)
Waldgeflüster – Meine Fesseln (Bindrune)
We All Die (Laughing) – Thoughtscanning (Kaotoxin)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

New Music

Roadrunner Records just announced its newest signing – LA industrial band Contracult Collective. Comprised of members Svart and Cultprit, the duo are pushing the...


Welcome to Throwback Thursday! This is the place where we get to indulge in nostalgia and wax poetic about excellent metal of years past. For...


"We had a bad experience during the last few years with Roadrunner and really just didn’t want to sign another record contract."