Connect with us

Hi,what are you looking for?

Weekly Injection


Plus releases from Benediction, Infera Bruo, Molassess, Lost Symphony, and Wayfarer.

This week’s new heavy metal releases include "High Plains" black metal, a couple of Jeff Loomis guest spots, high quality riffages, and more! To the metals…

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Benediction – Scriptures

Genre: Death metal
Origin: Birmingham, England
Label: Nuclear Blast

Starting this week with some straight up death metal. Their first album in twelve years sees the band unleashing a lot of pend up aggression. Long time fans should be stoked as this marks the return of long-time vocalist Dave Ingram.

Disciples Of Verity – Pragmatic Sanction

Genre: Heavy metal/groove metal
Origin: New York, New York

Buy now on Bandcamp

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Living Colour vocalist Corey Glover has teamed with George Pond (ex-Negative Sky), drummer Corey Pierce (ex-God Forbid), and guitarists Danny Puma (ex-Negative Sky) and Mark Monjoy (Sekond Skyn) for some soaring groove metal. This is a heavier realm than I've heard Glover in before, and he kills it. Then, you're also getting guest spots by Phil Demmel (Vio-lence), Jeff Loomis (Conquering Dystopia), and lots more. So there's lots to dig here.

Infera Bruo – Rites Of The Nameless

Genre: Progressive black metal
Origin: Boston, Massachusetts
Label: Prosthetic Records

Buy now on Bandcamp

Those craving some interesting black metal should look no further than Infera Bruo. Rites of the Nameless has tremolo picking and blast beats at the forefront, but you're also getting some atypical rhythms, doom-esque atmosphere, and some noisy bits. This is a very cool record for fans of Enslaved, Ihsahn, and other progressive blackened greats.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Lost Symphony – Chapter II

Genre: Classical metal
Origin: United States
Label: Xoff Records

Lost Symphony composer Benny Goodman is giving Arjen Luccasen's Ayreon a run for his money with this cameo filled metal epic.  This record has appearances from David Ellefson (Megadeth), Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy), Marty Friedman, Oli Herbert (All That Remains, RIP), and others. There is lots, and lots, and LOTS of shredding on this one.

Molassess – Through the Hollow

Genre: Doom/psychedelic
Origin: The Netherlands
Label: Season of Mist

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Molassess comes to you following the demise of The Devil's Blood fronted by their vocalist Farida Lemouchi. The sound is rather hypnotic. Fans of Farida's previous outfit will probably dig this, but this is very much its own trippy beast.

Spirit Adrift – Enlightened In Eternity

Genre: Heavy metal
Origin: Phoenix, Arizona/Austin, Texas
Label: 20 Buck Spin

Nate Garrett and Marcus Bryant really have this Spirit Adrift thing figured out. This is a classic metal inspired album that utilizes Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, and Thin Lizzy trademarks yet sounds unlike any of them. At it's core this is riffs on riffs on riffs on riffs, and it is a great time.

Wayfarer – A Romance With Violence

Genre: Black Metal/folk metal
Origin: Denver, Colorado
Label: Profound Lore

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

I recently saw Wayfarer described as "High Plains" black metal and that's a fun way to describe this sound. It's got a little twang to it, tons of atmosphere, and yet remains pretty evil. A Romance With Violence is a record that is putting a really interesting twist on a metal subgenre that needs new twists. I strongly support this album. Intriged? We have a full stream (and an interview) here.

Also dropping today

  • Altar Of Gore – Obscure & Obscene Gods (Nameless Grave) – Death metal
  • AntiMozdeBeast – AntiMozdeBeast II (Self-released) – Industrial
  • Artillery – The Last Journey (Metal Blade Records) – Thrash
  • Åskog – Varg (Self-released) – Black metal
  • Autocatalytica – Powerclashing Maximalism (Self-released) – Progressive metal
  • Bulb – Electronic (3DOT Recordings) – Progressive/electronic
  • Cursed Blood – Taker Of Life (Creator Destructor) – Death metal/thrash
  • The Damned – The Rockfield Files (Spinefarm) – Punk/rock
  • Falset – We Follow or Lead the Way (Self-released) – Progressive/hard rock
  • Fumarole – Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes (Interstellar Smoke Records) – Stoner rock
  • Goratory – Sour Grapes (Everlasting Spew Records) – Technical/brutal death metal
  • Henrik Palm – Poverty Metal (Svart Records) – Alternative metal
  • Hifiklub and Roddy Bottum – Things That Were Lost in the Fire (Dreamy Life Records, Toolong Records) – Experimental/spoken word
  • JeGong – I (Pelagic Records) – Post-metal
  • Kingdom Of Giants – Passenger (SharpTone Records) – Metalcore
  • Kneel – Ailment (Raging Planet/Planet K) – Progressive/groove metal
  • Tommy Lee – Andro (Better Noise Music)
  • Lord Almighty – Wither (Self-released) – Black metal/sludge
  • Moonlow – Who Are You (Trepanation Recordings) – Experimental/ambient
  • Mr Bison – Seaward (Ripple Music) – Stoner/psychedelic
  • The Myopia Condition – Event Horizon (Self-released) – Deathcore/progressive
  • Pluralone – I Don't Feel Well (Org) – Rock
  • Skalmold – 10 Year Anniversary: Live In Reykjavik (Napalm) – Folk metal
  • Sons of Otis – Isolation (Totem Cat Records) – Doom/psychedelic
  • The Struts – Strange Days (Interscope) – Rock
  • Temple Of The Fuzz Witch – Red Tide (Interstellar Smoke Records) – Doom/stoner
  • Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown – Pressure (Snakefarm) – Rock

Sponsored Links from Around the Internet
Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like

Free Swag

Here at Metal Injection, we get a lot of CDs, too many in fact, and so we want to give a big pile of...

Weekly Injection

Plus releases from Per Wiberg, Panopticon, Subterranean Masquerade, Caliban, and Bernth.