Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Latest News


Plus ANS and Skourge members.

Power Trip_4

Power Trip guitarist Blake Ibanez teased new material of some variety coming earlier this year, and now we've got some more information! Ibanez is launching a new band called Fugitive with guitarist Victor Gutierrez (Impalers), vocalist Seth Gilmore (Skourge), bassist Andy Messer (ANS, Stymie), and drummer Lincoln Mullins (Creeping Death). In an interview with The Dallas Observer, Ibanez said the material is similar to his Power Trip contributions but for fans not to expect more of exactly the same.

"I was able to find a niche where it sounds like the stuff that I write for Power Trip, but it's different, and it's a different tuning," said Ibanez. "It opens up some new doors for different types of songs and riffs. It was just kind of like a blank canvas. It was like, no rules."

"It's come to fruition very quickly," added Mullins. "It's nice having something new, and it's just refreshing. Not that I don't enjoy what I'm already doing, but having a breath of something new is always nice. I've very much enjoyed this."

The article further notes that Fugitive is in talks with 20 Buck Spin to release their debut EP, featuring a cover of "Raise The Dead" by Bathory. The band will also make their first live appearance on August 13 at the Wrecking Ball Madness festival in Dallas, TX. As for the longevity of Fugitive, Ibanez simply notes that "we don't really know what's going to happen — we all have our respective bands — but it's cool to start more projects, make more art, put more stuff out there that will be around forever and build your repertoire."

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like


Metalcore's not a gutter phenomenon!

Breakups & Shakeups

"An accusation was leveled at me, Niko, during our 2024 European Tour."