Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Latest News

More information, screencaps from Rock Star video game released

they have

Today is just full of video game news. According to ShackNews, a total of eight songs have been revealed for inclusion in Harmonix Music Systems' ambitious upcoming rhythm game Rock Band. Of the eight listed songs, an impressive six are drawn from the master tapes of each band's original recording: THE WHO's "Won't Get Fooled Again", DAVID BOWIE's "Suffragette City", WEEZER's "Say it Ain't So", NIRVANA's "In Bloom", THE HIVES' "Main Offender" and BLUE ÖYSTER CULT's "Don't Fear the Reaper".

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The remaining two tracks, BLACK SABBATH's "Paranoid" and MOUNTAIN's "Mississippi Queen", will be performed as covers, in line with most of the music used in Harmonix's previous Guitar Hero games.

Other Rock Band details mentioned in today's release include the confirmation of instrument-specific as well as band-wide campaign modes, the return of the time-slowing practice mode from Guitar Hero II, and the ability to create custom rock star avatars, down to the choice of tattoos and stage moves.

Check out new screen shots at this location.

While Rock Band will support downloadable content, there was no indication of what this content might be. Harmonix officials have previously indicated a desire to use Rock Band's potential for added content to draw from a much greater range of musical styles, even reaching beyond rock and roll.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Rock Band is expected to ship for PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 this holiday season. Harmonix CEO Alex Rigopulos has made multiple confirmations of a Wii version of the game, though Electronic Arts has yet to officially announce the game for that platform.

Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like