Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Latest News

JUDAS PRIEST To Be Inducted Into The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame

With a few former members, including K.K. Downing.

photo by Justin Borucki

Despite not making it into the top five on the fan ballot, Judas Priest will be inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame's Class of 2022. The band will receiver the Musical Excellence Award and will be inducted alongside Eminem, Dolly Parton, Duran Duran, Lionel Richie, Pat Benatar, Eurythmics, and Carly Simon. According to the Rock Hall, the Musical Excellence Award "is given to artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music."

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Judas Priest's current lineup of Rob Halford, Ian Hill, Glenn Tipton, and Scott Travis will be inducted alongside former members K.K. Downing, Les Binks, and Dave Holland.

"Wow, this is so exciting — at last. At last, you know?" Halford said in an interview with Billboard. "And, glory hallelujah, there's another metal band in the Hall Of Fame! That's the blessing we've all been waiting for."

"It's a diverse group of extremely talented individuals and bands who have had a significant impact and influence on rock & roll, the music that connects us all," added the Rock Hall in a statement. "Thank you to our voting body and to all of you who participated in the Fan Vote."

Halford also touched on Downing being a part of the induction, saying there's "no bitterness" between he and the band.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

"They have every right to be a part of the event. I'm very pleased for everybody. There's no bitterness. There's no angst. There's not that kind of stuff that's lingering. If there is you have to push all that away. You have to push it to the side and just understand and accept and respect this wonderful opportunity and what it represents in terms of recognition and a celebration."

The induction ceremony will be held on November 5 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, CA. Judas Priest previously did not make the Rock Hall's Class of 2020, so this is great news! Unfortunately Rage Against The Machine was also on the ballot this year and did not receive enough votes for induction.

Sponsored Links from Around the Internet
Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like