Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

New Music

JOHN CARPENTER To Reimagine Classic Movie Themes On New Anthology

Santa is coming early this year.


Legendary film director and musician John Carpenter has announced the release of a new collection of his movie themes, titled Anthology II (Movie Themes 1976-1988). The album will be released on October 6 via Sacred Bones Records and features re-recordings of classic themes from Carpenter's films between 1976 and 1988, including Halloween, Halloween III, Big Trouble in Little China, They Live, The Thing, and Prince of Darkness.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Carpenter will be joined on the album by his son Cody Carpenter and godson Daniel Davies, who have previously collaborated with him on the soundtracks for films such as The Ward and The Thing (2011). The album will also feature a new recording of the theme from Carpenter's upcoming film, Halloween Ends.

"I'm excited to release Anthology II," said Carpenter in a statement. "It's been a lot of fun revisiting these classic themes with Cody and Daniel. I hope fans enjoy listening to them as much as we enjoyed making them."

Anthology II (Movie Themes 1976-1988) is the follow-up to Carpenter's 2015 album Anthology: Movie Themes 1974-1998. The album is available for pre-order here.

The track-list for Anthology II (Movie Themes 1976-1988) is as follows:

  1. Halloween
  2. Escape from New York
  3. The Fog
  4. Halloween III: Season of the Witch
  5. Big Trouble in Little China
  6. They Live
  7. The Thing
  8. Prince of Darkness
  9. Christine
  10. Starman
  11. Firestarter
  12. The Fog (alternate version)
  13. Halloween Ends

The album is also available in a limited-edition vinyl pressing that includes a bonus 7-inch single featuring the tracks "Halloween" and "Escape from New York".

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like