Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

New Music

DIMMU BORGIR Announce Covers Compilation Album

Listen to a remastered cover of "Black Metal" now.

A photo of the band Dimmu Borgir

Norwegian symphonic black metal trailblazers Dimmu Borgir have announced the release of Inspiratio Profanus, a new album that compiles the band's various covers from throughout their career onto one disc, complete with a remaster.

"We're pleased to announce the 'Inspiratio Profanus' release!" says guitarist Silenoz. "We thought it was about time to finally compile the cover songs we've done over the years and give these renditions an updated mastering, all in one package, highlighting some of our many influences!"

The guitarist also commented on Dimmu's cover of "Black Metal," originally by Venom, which starts off the record:

"'Black Metal,' the track and its origin, features something really primeval, raw and unhinged. There is lawlessness and danger connected to it. We did our best to capture the spirit of the ancient gods' rock 'n' roll 24 years later. Did we do it justice? I think so."

Inspiratio Profanus is out on December 8 via Nuclear Blast.

"Inspiratio Profanus" track listing:

  1. Black Metal (VENOM)
  2. Satan My Master (BATHORY)
  3. Dead Men Don't Rape (G.G.F.H.)
  4. Nocturnal Fear (CELTIC FROST)
  5. Burn In Hell (TWISTED SISTER)
  6. Perfect Strangers (DEEP PURPLE)
  7. Metal Heart (ACCEPT)
  8. Nocturnal Fear (Celtically Processed) (CELTIC FROST)
Show Comments / Reactions

You May Also Like


Shout out to photographer Rae Chatten.

In The Studio

"We never compromise and we always take the time we feel is needed to finish an album."

New Music

Dimmu Borgir is back with another cover song, this time tackling Deep Purple's "Perfect Strangers". The cover is featured on Dimmu Borgir's upcoming cover...